About Us


Lying along the west shore of Lake Manitoba, the district encompasses approximately 3,397 km2 with more than 600 km of order in council infrastructure drains. 

The district includes the Rural Municipalities of Alonsa and the north half of Lakeshore. 

The beef cattle industry dominates the local economy along with a considerable involvement in commercial fishing in the winter months.



Established in February 1978, Alonsa Conservation District has always been involved in soil and water management, with its initial establishment being to deal with issues pertaining to agricultural drainage.

The district originally encompassed 2,680 km2. In April 1999, the majority of the RM of Lakeshore joined the existing district, bringing the  new area to the present 3,397 km2.

​In December 2014, ACD completed the Westlake Integrated Watershed Management Plan (WIWMP) which focuses on employing watershed-based decision-making. This provides an opportunity to address water quality, water quantity, community, and habitat issues beyond municipal boundaries, allowing a focus on cumulative impacts of land use practices in the watershed.

Also in 2014, the district added GIS equipment to its assets, allowing the organization to complete ground survey work more efficiently.

In 2016, the district acquired an eBee RTK surveying drone, now allowing the completion or aerial surveying for quick and easy data collection.


The ACD strives to promote stewardship of our land and water resources to ensure a healthy and prosperous lifestyle for all watershed residents, now and in the future. In doing so the District assists the province to achieve these goals and objectives in Manitoba’s Land and Water Strategy. CD’s operate under the authority of The Conservation Districts Act. 

Board Members

Shawn Gurke​
Financial Administrator:
Cary Anderson

Board Chairman: 

Tom Anderson
Vice Chairman:
Walter Tymchuk
​Tom Anderson

District 157 - West Lawrence:
Main - Ernie Smadella
Sub - David Sraybash

District 107-Hamlin/Crane River:
107L Main - Walter Tymchuk
107L Sub -  Neil Preston
107A  Main -  Stephan Duplessis
107A Sub - Eldon Campbell

District 113 - Lonely Lake/ Ebb & Flow:
Main - Colin Mailman

Sub - Tom Anderson

District 110 - Garrioch Creek:

Main - Ken Dunn

Sub - Roger Smith

District 160 - Kinosota Ridge:

Main - Mike Brown

Sub - Terry Dayholos

Provincial Appointee:

​David Senkowski